The Guardian: WikiLeaks cables reveal Shell’s grip on Nigerian state

I haven’t written anything for quite a long time. I’m still around although I’ve been busy. A friend of mine brought to my attention an interesting article and so I thought I’d post it here. I’m guessing it will be a topic that people will be discussing tomorrow. According to the Guardian, Wikileaks has revealed some claims by a Shell executive in Nigeria that the company had inserted staff into all the main ministries of the Nigerian government. The article is here.

While we’re on the topic of Nigeria, I’m thinking now might be an appropriate time to look back on some history and to remember Ken Saro-Wiwa and the execution of the Ogoni 9. Or to read through some of the information that Amnesty International has presented about the petroleum industry in Nigeria. That second link is a bit long and I can’t say I’ve read all of it myself, but you don’t have to read all of it to get something good out of it. It’s worth a perusal.

Here’s a link from the Goldman Environmental Foundation with some information on Ken Saro-Wiwa who won their Goldman Environmental Prize for Africa in 1995.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

